2019 FWHCC Scholarship Awards

  • Share:
May 30, 2019

Fort Worth, Texas -- The Fort Worth Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (FWHCC) recently awarded over $41,000 in college scholarships to 24 students in Tarrant County. Scholarship recipients were recognized at the FWHCC President's Scholar Dinner held at Tarrant County College - Trinity River Campus on May 28th.

The 2019 FWHCC Scholarship Award recipients include:
  • Valerie Almanza, Everman Joe C. Bean High School
  • Sarai Balderas, Marine Creek High School
  • Alexis Beets, Central High School
  • Jocelyn Benitez, Trimble Tech High School
  • Maricruz Castrellon, Trimble Tech High School
  • Betty Chau, Trimble Tech High School
  • Rafael Cocchi, R.L. Paschal High School
  • Karla Deleon, Arlington Collegiate High School
  • Isaac Espinal, Trinity Valley High School
  • Paul Garza, R.L. Paschal High School
  • Kristian Gaytan, Young Men's Leadership Academy
  • Fidel Gonzalez, South Hills High School
  • Jordhy Gonzalez, R.L. Paschal High School
  • Luis Hernandez, South Hills High School
  • Jeremiah Hackett, Trinity High School
  • Sidney Jackson, Trimble Tech High School
  • Danette Morales, Arlington High School
  • Isabela Ponce, L.D. Bell High School
  • Elena Regalado, James W. Martin High School
  • Alexandra Renteria, Arlington Collegiate High School
  • Brianna Renteria, Arlington Heights High School
  • Dianeli Rodriguez, Arlington Heights High School
  • Alejandra Samano, Everman Joe C. Bean High School
  • Donald Scott, Central High School
In addition to the scholarship recognition, the FWHCC presented a donation recognition from Gloria Starling and Frank Testa to three local school culinary programs. The schools that each received a $500 donation for their culinary programs included: North Side High School, Trimble Tech High School and Polytechnic High School.

Special thanks to Tarrant County College for their community partnership and sponsorship of the FWHCC Scholar Dinner. We would also like to recognize the following Scholarship Fund donors and participants. 
Your contribution and support helps local high school students to reach their higher education goals.
  • Dr. Jaime & Lucy Gonzalez (Gloria J. Gonzalez Scholarship)
  • Emily Caram Cain (Freddie Caram Jr. Memorial Scholarship)
  • Nada Ruddock (NBC5/KXAS Scholarship)
  • Leticia Gallegos, Geneva Avila & Chris Alvarado (Hispanic Real Estate Brokers Association Scholarship)
  • Natasha Hill (Tarleton State University)
  • Frank & Lei Testa (Lei Malone Testa Scholarship)
  • Gloria Starling of The Capital Grille & Frank Testa (Culinary Program Donations)
  • JoAnn Jensen
  • Karen & Larry Anfin
  • Florence Salazar Bruner & FireHouse Auto Sales
  • Courtney Kennebeck & Empower Heroes
  • Vanessa Copeland & O. Trevino Construction
  • Michael Dimas & ONCOR
  • Juan Acosta & BNSF
  • Sylvia Alcala & J. Anthony Group
  • Teresa Montes Frost Bank
  • Tarrant County District Clerk Tom Wilder
  • Tarrant County Judge Glen Whitley
  • Rachel Arellano, Tarrant County Judge Whitley’s Office
  • Ben Lanford
  • Destinye Crawford
  • Ish Arebalos & Coca Cola Southwest Beverages
  • Love Sweet Things Bakery
Created in 1998, the FWHCC Scholarship Fund has since provided hundreds of local students with financial support and encouragement, ensuring cost is not a barrier to their education. To date, the FWHCC has awarded over $1 million in scholarships. To make a donation or to learn more, visit: https://business.fwhcc.org/store/donate